ITF Policy

In Trust For (or ITF) accounts are non-registered plans that allow investors to save on behalf of a child. Many parents, grandparents, aunts and uncles use ITF accounts to complement their Registered Educations Savings Plans (RESPs).

How do you open an ITF account?

Mail or fax us a completed application form. The ITF terms and conditions can be found on page 3 of the application.

1. How ITF accounts work

What is an ITF account?

An ITF account is a non-registered account opened by an adult (someone who is the age of majority) in trust for someone who is not yet legally considered an adult (a minor). This typically happens when a parent or loved one opens an account in trust for a child.

The account holder is the trustee. The child is the irrevocable beneficiary – a beneficiary who cannot be removed once named to the account.

Who can open an ITF account?

Any adult can open an ITF account for a child. For residents of Quebec, a parent or legal guardian may open an ITF account for their minor child.

Who can be a beneficiary of an ITF account?

Any minor can be listed as a beneficiary. However, ITF accounts cannot have multiple or contingent beneficiaries. Simply put – one child per account – no matter how many trustees are registered as account holders.

Who actually owns an ITF account?

The minor child is the beneficial owner of the assets, while a trusted adult – the trustee – maintains legal authority over the account during the beneficiary’s childhood. Anyone who donates to the account irrevocably relinquishes ownership and entitlement of the deposited funds to the beneficiary.

The trustee’s job is to manage the account in the best interest of the beneficiary.

What are the advantages of an ITF account?

  • Liquidity
    ITF accounts are not subject to the rules and regulations imposed on similar registered plans. This makes the funds easy to access when the time comes.
  • Seamless Transfer to the Beneficiary
    Once the beneficiary is of age, any request they make results in a non-taxable transfer into a new account in the beneficiary’s name.

What happens when a beneficiary reaches the age of majority?

The beneficiary does not automatically replace the trustee as the account holder of record. As soon as the beneficiary is of age, they inherit the same authority over the account as the trustee. This authority is shared with the trustee allowing each to independently issue instructions on the account.

It is important to note that once a beneficiary reaches the age of majority, they alone are solely entitled to receive the proceeds of any withdrawals or transfers.

Once the beneficiary is of age, it is expected that the trustee will work with their advisor to have the account transferred directly to the beneficiary. This transfer is not taxable as ownership isn’t truly changing. The transfer simply allows the beneficiary to make their own investment decisions and assume sole authority over the account.

Is an ITF account a Formal Trust?

ITF accounts are not Formal Trust accounts. A Formal Trust requires the drafting of highly specialized legal documentation created by a lawyer. Anyone interested in opening a formal trust with Franklin Templeton should speak with their advisor.

2. Who is responsible for filing taxes?

The trustee is responsible for filing tax returns for capital gains and income earned in an ITF account. Tax slips will be issued with the trustee’s name and SIN, and will clearly indicate that the account is registered in trust for a beneficiary, whose name will also appear on the slip. If attribution rules are to be applied, tax slips should be issued with the beneficiary name and SIN.

It is of critical importance that trustees work with advisors and tax specialists to fully understand the tax implications of holding an ITF account, and ensure filing is done accurately year after year.

If the preference is to have tax slips issued in the name of the beneficiary with his/her name and SIN in lieu of the default noted above, please contact us as soon as possible and we will accommodate your request.

3. How to request transactions in an ITF account

While the beneficiary is a minor

All instructions require the authorization of the trustee.

Once the beneficiary is an adult

For all provinces except Quebec - We will continue to take instructions from the trustee, but redemption and transfer proceeds may only be payable directly to the beneficiary.

We will also take instructions directly from the beneficiary.

For Quebec only - Instructions will be accepted from only the beneficiary once he/she reaches the age of majority.

Note that any requests made independently by an adult beneficiary will result in the account being transferred into their name, to ensure appropriate tax and account activity reporting. To avoid delays, ensure we have complete beneficiary information on file. The transfer will be completed before the original request is processed.

All transaction requests can be mailed or faxed to our offices.

Contact Us

4. Terms and Conditions

A set of Terms & Conditions that apply to ITF accounts are included in Franklin Templeton’s Combined Application Form. Important: We are in the process of updating the ITF Terms & Conditions on the Franklin Templeton Combined Application Form specific to Québec investors. In the interim, please view the current ITF Terms & Conditions included in Section 7 below.

These terms and conditions apply only to ITF accounts that were opened before October 1, 2017. Call us if you have questions about ITF accounts opened before that date.

5. Information for Québec investors

In order to open an account for a minor beneficiary in Québec with an initial investment over $25K, we require a Tutorship Agreement or similar document that outlines the details of the tutorship, how the account will be administered and by whom. Visit Curateur public Québec’s website

to learn about tutorship to the property of a minor. Québec residents interested in opening a Tutorship account with Franklin Templeton should speak with their advisor to initiate the process.

6. Glossary

ITF accounts consist of various components, each of which is required to establish a trust.

Asset – This is the money within the account, held in trust for the beneficiary.

Beneficiary – This is the person for whom the account is opened in trust, sometimes referred to as the ‘in trust for.’ This person is the beneficial owner of the assets – they enjoy the benefit of owning the property even though it is registered in title to the trustee.

There can only be one beneficiary listed to an ITF account, and that beneficiary is irrevocable. They cannot be removed from the account once named.

Donor – This is any person who contributes to the account.

Joint Trustee – This is the term applied to each trustee when there is more than one trustee listed to an account.

Trustee – This is the person who effectively holds the account while the beneficiary is a minor. While they do not own the account, they hold signing authority over it. In this way, they are able to manage the assets in the best interest of the beneficiary.

7. ITF TERMS & CONDITIONS

The trustee(s) certifies/certify the following:

  1. Each account holder(s) identified in Section 2 of this application acknowledges that it is the trustee of the assets held for the benefit of the named beneficiary in the “In Trust For” account (the “ITF account”).
  2. The assets are being gifted irrevocably to the trust for the benefit of the named beneficiary. In cases where the assets are derived from a third party, they are being held by the trustee for the benefit of the beneficiary.
  3. I/We acknowledge that there is no formal written trust agreement in place for the ITF account. I/we also understand that Franklin Templeton Investments is not responsible for monitoring any limitations, conditions or restrictions on the powers of the Trustee(s) to manage or deal with the assets held in the ITF account. Franklin Templeton Investments will not monitor any investment restrictions in relation to the ITF account.
  4. It is my/our responsibility to ensure that the ITF account is opened and operated in accordance with applicable provincial/territorial laws (including the laws that apply to the Province of Quebec, if applicable) that govern ITF accounts, including trust and tax laws in the applicable jurisdiction.
  5. I/We acknowledge that the Social Insurance Number provided by the account holder/trustee in Section 2 of this application, will appear on the applicable tax receipts generated for the ITF account and that it is the account holder’s responsibility to file the appropriate tax returns for this account.
  6. I/We acknowledge and understand that in my/our capacity as trustee(s), I/we must exercise the skill, care, diligence and judgment that a reasonable trustee would exercise in investing the assets of a trust and will comply with all relevant provincial/ territorial laws (including the laws that apply to the Province of Quebec, if applicable) in acting in such capacity.
  7. Depositing assets in trust, in the ITF account, forever “divests, deprives and disposes” me/us of any beneficial title to such assets and vests the trust assets irrevocably in the beneficiary’s hands. If assets are withdrawn from the ITF account, they shall be used solely for the benefit of the beneficiary. Each account holder, as trustee, acknowledges that it shall only manage the assets and is not beneficially entitled to the assets held in the ITF account.
  8. I/We acknowledge that any joint account holder named in Section 2 is acting as a joint trustee. If a joint account holder dies while the beneficiary is still a minor, the surviving account holder would remain the sole trustee (unless otherwise mandated by applicable provincial/territorial laws, including the laws of the Province of Quebec, if applicable).
  9. I/We acknowledge and understand that once the beneficiary reaches the age of majority (based on applicable provincial/territorial laws, including the laws of the Province of Quebec), Franklin Templeton Investments may accept instructions directly from the beneficiary without my/our consent and that proceeds of the ITF account will be payable directly to the beneficiary and not the trustee, unless otherwise consented to or directed by the beneficiary. Upon attaining the age of majority requests made by the beneficiary may result in an in-kind or in-cash transfer (depending on the nature of the request) and will only be made to an account held by the beneficiary in his/her name with an existing dealer and/or financial advisor.
  10. I/We acknowledge that there may be legal and tax consequences in creating an ITF account and that Franklin Templeton Investments makes no legal or tax representations regarding these types of accounts. I/We have been advised to obtain professional tax and/or legal advice prior to opening the ITF account and making investment decisions for the benefit of the named beneficiary.

Les comptes de fiducie informelle

Les comptes de fiducie informelle sont des régimes non enregistrés qui permettent aux investisseurs d'épargner au nom d'un enfant. Bon nombre de parents, de grands-parents, de tantes et d'oncles ont recours aux comptes de fiducie informelle qui serviront de complément aux régimes enregistrés d'épargne-études (REEE).

Comment ouvrir un compte de fiducie informelle?

Envoyez-nous un formulaire de demande d’ouverture de compte dûment rempli par la poste ou par télécopieur. Les conditions relatives aux comptes de fiducie informelle se trouvent à la page 7 du formulaire de demande.

1. Comment les comptes de fiducie informelle fonctionnent-ils?

Qu’est-ce qu’un compte de fiducie informelle?

Un compte de fiducie informelle est un compte en fiducie non enregistré ouvert par un adulte (une personne qui a atteint l’âge de la majorité) au bénéfice d’une personne qui n’a pas encore atteint l’âge adulte selon la loi (une personne mineure). C’est habituellement ce qui se produit lorsqu’un parent ou un proche ouvre un compte en fiducie informelle pour un enfant.

Le titulaire du compte est le fiduciaire. L’enfant est le bénéficiaire irrévocable , c’est-à-dire qu’il ne peut pas être retiré du compte une fois qu’il a été désigné comme tel.

Qui peut ouvrir un compte en fiducie informelle?

Tout adulte (ou groupe d’adultes) qui réside dans une province autre que le Québec peut ouvrir un compte en fiducie informelle pour un enfant. La seule condition est que tous les fiduciaires aient atteint l’âge de la majorité dans leur province de résidence. Les fiduciaires ne sont assujettis à aucune restriction quant au lien qui les unit, tant entre eux qu’avec le bénéficiaire.

Qui peut être bénéficiaire d’un compte de fiducie informelle?

Tout adulte peut ouvrir un compte en fiducie pour un enfant. Pour les résidents du Québec, le parent ou le tuteur légal peut ouvrir un compte en fiducie pour leur enfant mineur.

Qui est le véritable titulaire d’un compte en fiducie informelle?

L’enfant mineur est le propriétaire véritable des actifs, alors que c’est un adulte de confiance, le fiduciaire, qui a droit de regard sur le compte tant que le bénéficiaire n’a pas atteint l’âge de la majorité. Toute personne qui dépose une somme dans le compte renonce de façon irrévocable à la propriété et au contrôle des fonds déposés au profit du bénéficiaire.

Il incombe au fiduciaire de gérer le compte dans l’intérêt supérieur du bénéficiaire.

Quels sont les avantages d’un compte de fiducie informelle?

  • Liquidité
    Les comptes de fiducie informelle ne sont pas assujettis aux règles et aux règlements qui s’appliquent aux régimes enregistrés semblables. Les fonds seront ainsi plus faciles à retirer.
  • Transfert sans heurt au bénéficiaire
    Lorsque le bénéficiaire a atteint l’âge de la majorité, toute demande de retrait donnera lieu à un transfert en franchise d’impôt dans un nouveau compte au nom du bénéficiaire.

Que se passe-t-il lorsque le bénéficiaire atteint l’âge de la majorité?

Le bénéficiaire ne se substitue pas automatiquement au fiduciaire comme le titulaire du compte dans le dossier. Au moment où le bénéficiaire atteint l’âge de la majorité, il obtient les mêmes droits sur le compte que le fiduciaire. Ces droits sont détenus conjointement avec le fiduciaire, ce qui leur permet de fournir des instructions chacun de leur côté concernant le compte.

Il convient de souligner que lorsque le bénéficiaire atteint l’âge de la majorité, lui seul a le droit de recevoir le produit découlant de tout retrait ou transfert.

À la majorité du bénéficiaire, il est attendu que le fiduciaire collaborera avec le conseiller afin de transférer le compte directement au bénéficiaire. Un tel transfert n’est pas imposable puisque le propriétaire véritable ne change pas. Le transfert permet simplement au bénéficiaire de prendre ses propres décisions de placement et d’être la seule personne autorisée à agir sur le compte.

Le compte de fiducie informelle est-il une fiducie formelle?

Les comptes de fiducie informelle sont différents des comptes de fiducie formelle. Une fiducie formelle doit être mise sur pied par un avocat qui doit rédiger des documents juridiques hautement spécialisés. Quiconque souhaite ouvrir une fiducie formelle auprès de Franklin Templeton devrait d’abord consulter son conseiller.

2. À qui la responsabilité de produire une déclaration de revenus incombe-t-elle?

Il incombe au fiduciaire de déclarer les revenus et les gains en capital du compte de fiducie informelle. Le nom et NAS du fiduciaire figurera sur les feuillets d’impôt émis qui indiqueront également que le compte est enregistré comme un compte en fiducie au profit d’un bénéficiaire, dont le nom apparaîtra également sur le feuillet. Si les règles d’attribution s’appliquent, le nom du bénéficiaire et son NAS figurera sur les feuillets d’impôt émis.

Il est essentiel que le fiduciaire travaille en collaboration avec les conseillers et les fiscalistes de façon à comprendre parfaitement les incidences fiscales des placements détenus dans le compte de fiducie informelle et à s’assurer que les déclarations de revenus sont exactes d’une année à l’autre.

Si la préférence pour les feuillets d’impôt émis est de figurer le nom et NAS du bénéficiaire au lieu d’option par défaut mentionnée ci-dessus, veuillez nous contactez dans les plus brefs délais pour répondre à votre demande.

3. Comment formuler une demande d’opération dans un compte de fiducie informelle?

Lorsque le bénéficiaire est mineur

Toute directive doit être autorisée par le fiduciaire.

Lorsque le bénéficiaire est adulte

Pour toutes les provinces sauf au Québec-Nous continuerons d’accepter les directives formulées par le fiduciaire, mais le produit découlant d’un rachat ou d’un transfert ne pourra être versé directement qu’au bénéficiaire.

Nous accepterons également les directives provenant directement du bénéficiaire.

Seulement au Québec –Toute directive doit être envoyée seulement par le bénéficiaire lorsqu’il/elle atteint l’âge de la majorité.

Veuillez noter que toute demande distincte formulée par un bénéficiaire majeur entraînera le transfert du compte à son nom dans le but d’assurer la préparation adéquate des relevés fiscaux et des rapports sur les activités du compte. Pour éviter tout délai, vérifiez que tous les renseignements sur le bénéficiaire figurent au dossier. Le transfert sera effectué avant que la demande initiale soit traitée.

Les demandes d’opérations peuvent être envoyées à nos bureaux par la poste ou par télécopieur.

Communiquer avec nous

4. Conditions

Vous trouverez les conditions applicables aux comptes de fiducie informelle dans le Formulaire de souscription de Franklin Templeton.

Important : Nous sommes en train de mis à jour les conditions applicables aux comptes de fiducie informelle sur notre Formulaire de souscription Placements Franklin Templeton spécifiques aux investisseurs du Québec. Entre-temps, veuillez consultez les conditions à la section 7 ci-dessous.

Ces conditions ne s’appliquent qu’aux comptes de fiducie informelle qui ont été ouverts avant le 1er octobre 2017.. Communiquez avec nous si vous avez des questions au sujet d’un compte ouvert avant cette date.

5. Renseignements à l’intention des investisseurs résidant au Québec

Pour ouvrir un compte pour un bénéficiaire mineur au Québec avec un placement initial de 25 000 $ nous avons besoin de la convention de tutelle ou d’un document similaire qui contient les renseignements sur la tutelle et présente la manière dont le compte sera administré et par qui.

Consultez le site Web du Curateur public Québec afin d’en savoir plus sur la tutelle des biens d’un mineur.

Les résidents du Québec qui souhaitent ouvrir un compte de tutelle auprès de Franklin Templeton devraient d’abord consulter leur conseiller.

6. Glossaire

Les comptes de fiducie informelle comportent divers volets; tous requis pour établir une fiducie.

Actif - Argent conservé en fiducie dans le compte pour le bénéficiaire.

Bénéficiaire – Personne pour qui le compte en fiducie est ouvert, parfois appelé compte en fiducie informelle. Cette personne est le propriétaire véritable de l’actif qui tire profit des placements du compte qu’il détient même s’ils sont enregistrés au nom du fiduciaire.

Un compte de fiducie informelle ne peut avoir qu’un seul bénéficiaire, et ce dernier est irrévocable. Il ne peut être retiré du compte une fois qu’il a été désigné.

Donateur – Personne qui verse des fonds dans le compte.

Fiduciaire conjoint – Nom qui désigne chaque fiduciaire du compte, s’il y en a plus qu’un.

Fiduciaire – Titulaire véritable du compte tant que le bénéficiaire est mineur. Même s’il n’est pas le propriétaire du compte, il en est le signataire autorisé. Il peut ainsi gérer l’actif du compte dans l’intérêt supérieur du bénéficiaire.

7. CONDITIONS DES COMPTES DE FIDUCIE

Le(s) fiduciaire(s) atteste(nt) de ce qui suit :

  1. Le(s) titulaire(s) de compte identifié(s) à la Section 2 de cette demande reconnaît/reconnaissent être le(s) fiduciaire(s) des actifs qui sont tenus au profit du bénéficiaire désigné dans la fiducie.
  2. Les actifs sont cédés à la fiducie de façon irrévocable au profit du bénéficiaire désigné. Dans les cas où les actifs provienent d’une tierce partie, ils sont détenus par le fiduciare au profit du bénéficiaire.
  3. Je reconnais (Nous reconnaissons) qu’aucune convention de fiducie formelle n’a été rédigée. Je comprends (Nous comprenons) que Placements Franklin Templeton n’a pas la responsabilité de surveiller les limites applicables aux pouvoirs des fiduciaires en ce qui a trait à la gestion des actifs de la fiducie. Placements Franklin Templeton n’exercera aucune surveillance quant aux restrictions en matière de placement en ce qui concerne la fiducie.
  4. Je suis (Nous sommes) responsable(s) de veiller à ce que la fiducie soit gérée conformément aux lois provinciales/territoriales applicables (incluant les lois applicables à la province de Québec, le cas échéant) qui régissent les comptes en fiducie y compris les lois pertinentes aux fiducies et les lois fiscales applicables à la juridiction.
  5. Je reconnais (Nous reconnaissons) que le numéro d’assurance sociale fourni dans la Section 2 de cette demande figurera sur les reçus fiscaux émis pour le compte en fiducie et que j’ai (nous avons) la responsabilité de produire les déclarations d’impôt appropriées à l’égard des revenus et gains en capital générés par le compte.
  6. Je reconnais et comprends (Nous reconnaissons et comprenons) qu’à titre de fiduciaire(s) je dois (nous devons) agir avec soin, diligence et compétence dont ferait preuve un investisseur prudent en plaçant les actifs de la fiducie et me (nous) conformer à toutes les lois provinciales et territoriales applicables (incluant les lois applicables à la province de Québec, le cas échéant), en agissant à ce titre.
  7. Le fait de verser des fonds dans le compte en fiducie me (nous) prive à tout jamais d’être bénéficiaire(s) des fonds déposés et accorde de façon irrévocable la propriété de ces fonds au bénéficiaire. Si des actifs sont retirés du compte, ils devront être utilisés uniquement au profit du bénéficiaire. Chaque titulaire, en tant que fiduciaire, reconnaît être responsable de gérer les fonds du compte, mais ne détient aucun droit à titre de bénéficiaire à l’égard de ces fonds.
  8. Je reconnais (Nous reconnaissons) que tout cotitulaire du compte nommé à la Section 2 n’agit qu’à titre de fiduciaire conjoint. Si un cotitulaire de compte décède alors que le bénéficiaire est toujours mineur, le(s) cotitulaire(s) de compte survivant(s) demeurera (demeureront) par défaut le(s) seul(s) fiduciaire(s) (sauf si autrement mandaté par les lois provinciales ou territoriales applicables, y compris les lois de la Province de Québec, le cas échéant).
  9. Je reconnais et comprends (Nous reconnaissons et comprenons) que lorsque le bénéficiaire atteindra l’âge de la majorité selon les lois provinciales et territoriales applicables (incluant les lois applicables à la province de Québec), Placements Franklin Templeton acceptera des directives de la part du bénéficiaire sans mon (notre) consentement et que le produit du compte en fiducie sera directement payable au bénéficiaire et non au(x) fiduciaire(s) à moins que le bénéficiaire n’y consente ou nous indique de la sorte. Après avoir atteint l’âge de la majorité, les demandes faites par le bénéficiaire peuvent par conséquent entraîner un transfert en nature ou en espèces (selon la nature de la demande) que dans un compte à son nom selon le courtier et/ou le conseiller existant.
  10. Je reconnais (Nous reconnaissons) que l’ouverture d’un compte en fiducie peut avoir des conséquences juridiques et fiscales et que Placements Franklin Templeton ne fait aucune déclaration quant aux conséquences juridiques ou fiscales particulières de ce type de compte. J’ai été invité (Nous avons été invités) d’obtenir des conseils professionnels au sujet des conséquences fiscales et juridiques avant d’ouvrir un compte en fiducie et de prendre des décisions d’investissements au profit du bénéficiaire désigné.