What is FATCA?

The Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA) requires non-U.S. financial institutions to report accounts held by U.S. persons to the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).

Under the intergovernmental agreement, relevant information about accounts held by U.S. residents and U.S. citizens (including U.S. citizens who are residents or citizens of Canada) are reported to the Canada Revenue Agency (CRA).

What does this mean for non-resident investors?

Effective July 1, 2014, we require a self-certification form for all non-resident accounts held by investors who reside in foreign countries. The form tells us which country the investor lives in for tax purposes or if the investor is a citizen of the United States.

What should you do to comply with FATCA?

If you’re a tax resident or citizen of the United States, complete the applicable form and send it to your advisor. (These same forms can also be found in the ‘FATCA & CRS Self-Certification Form’ section of this page.)

Choose the applicable form:

En quoi consiste la FATCA?

En vertu de la Foreign Account Tax Compliance Act (FATCA), les établissements financiers non américains sont tenus de déclarer les comptes détenus par des personnes américaines à l’Internal Revenue Service (IRS).

Aux termes de l’Accord intergouvernemental, les renseignements pertinents concernant les comptes détenus par des résidents américains et des citoyens américains (y compris par des citoyens américains qui sont résidents ou citoyens du Canada) sont communiqués à l’Agence de revenu du Canada (ARC).

Qu’est-ce que cela signifie pour les investisseurs non résidents?

Depuis le 1er juillet 2014, nous exigeons que le formulaire d’autocertification nous soit fourni pour tous les comptes détenus par des résidents de pays étrangers. Ce formulaire nous indique le pays de résidence de l’investisseur aux fins de l’impôt et si ce dernier est citoyen des États-Unis.

Que devez-vous faire pour vous conformer aux exigences de la FATCA?

Si vous êtes un citoyen américain ou un résident des États-Unis aux fins de l’impôt, veuillez remplir le formulaire approprié et l’envoyer à votre conseiller. (Ces formulaires se trouvent également à la section Formulaire d’autocertification relative à la FATCA et à la NCD sur cette page.)

Veuillez choisir le formulaire approprié:

Formulaires pour les investisseurs non résidents