Take Control Of Your Finances After An Illness

Change is inevitable, and certain life situations present challenges. An illness in the family can be an emotionally difficult time, especially when it involves taking on new expenses and altering your financial plan. Franklin Templeton Investments’ Own Your Future program is designed to help you and your family prepare for life’s challenges so that you are able to take control of your financial well-being.

What are my financial needs following an illness in the family?

Leave from work

Depending on the nature and severity of the illness, you or your family member may need to take some time off work. That may include a short-term leave, a long-term leave or permanent leave. You may need to adjust your financial plan to accommodate a potential loss of income.

Disability payments

You may need to reassess your budget to make the best use of disability payments and/or a reduced income.

Medical payments

Medical treatments, prescriptions and other types of care associated with your illness can be expensive. You may need to assess your budget to accommodate added expenses.

Lifestyle continuity

An illness or disability injury can have a severe impact on you’re the quality of life for of you and your family. Putting a financial plan in place today can help you prepare effectively for events and challenges that may come. A financial advisor can help.

How do I create a financial plan for the future?

You need to ensure financial stability for yourself and your family. In the short term, you need to thoroughly understand your family’s current financial situation, take care of your immediate financial needs and start planning for the future.

Take care of immediate cash needs

Work with your advisor to prepare a household budget for short-term needs. At a later stage, development of a projected budget will help you understand how to support your family on your own and/or with your partner’s income when his or her situation has stabilized. If your partner is able to work again, you can then re-evaluate your financial plans.

Take stock of your financial situation

You need to have a solid understanding of your partner’s assets as well as your own. Compile all important information and leave a copy in your firebox, and another copy with someone you trust, in case of emergency.

Consult your financial advisor

Set up a meeting with your advisor to see where you stand financially. If you don’t feel comfortable meeting with the advisor alone, ask another family member or trusted friend to join you. Your financial advisor can help you determine your priorities in preparing for a worst-case scenario. Open communication is critical.

You could discuss the following topics:

  • Establishment of a fund to provide extra money for your partner’s health care and compensate for lost income-earning power
  • Topping up the household emergency fund (in the event you lose your income)
  • RESPs for your children
  • Reviewing and updating insurance coverage in light of your partner’s situation
  • Strategies to strengthen your retirement plan

Develop and regularly update your plan

Your advisor can help you develop a comprehensive written financial plan that can be referred to periodically to help ease your financial concerns. It can, and should, be updated regularly to reflect changes in your partner’s health status.

How do I find the right financial advisor?

If you don’t have a financial advisor, now is the time to find the advisor who is right for you. You need an advisor who can help you and your family create a plan to deal with the added expenses and responsibilities that are associated with treating an illness. Understanding the designations for financial advisors, areas of expertise and different methods of compensation can help you make an informed decision when searching for the right financial advisor.

What are common designations for financial advisors?

The financial services industry encourages continuing education for all financial advisors. Here is a list of some of the industry’s most common designations that you can speak to your advisor about:

  • Canadian Securities Course (CSC)/Conduct and Practices Handbook Exam (CPH)
  • Certified Financial Planner (CFP)/Registered Financial Planner (RFP)
  • Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC))/other insurance training
  • Certified Retirement Planner (CRP)
  • Chartered Financial Analyst (CFA)
  • Chartered Accountant (CA)/Certified Public Accountant (CPA)
  • Mentorships (ask about any mentoring programs your advisor has participated in)
  • Additional education/certifications/courses/training

What areas of expertise do financial advisors specialize in?

You want an advisor who can not only help you make a financial plan that deals with an illness in the family but also help you at every stage of your life. Your needs may include day-to-day investment activities or longer-term tasks such as retirement and estate planning. Regardless, your advisor should be able to help you get your finances in order; here are some areas you can ask them about:

  • Retirement planning (e.g., Registered Retirement Savings Accounts [RRSPs], Tax-Free Savings Accounts [TFSAs], etc.)
  • Estate planning
  • Tax planning
  • Education planning (e.g., Registered Education Savings Accounts [RESPs], etc.)
  • Pensions
  • Household budgeting
  • Insurance
  • Banking/mortgages

How are financial advisors compensated?

Advisors can be compensated in a number of different ways. How they are paid depends on the type of products and services advisors offer and the way they work. Common forms of compensation include:

Commission
Commission-based advisors are paid each time a transaction is made on your behalf. For example, when the advisor buys or sells a security or fund for you, he or she is often paid by the company that offers the investment product or is facilitating the purchase.

Percentage of assets
Some advisors charge a fee that is based on a percentage of the total value of the investments you have with them. This type of pay structure is common for advisors who have clients with larger investment portfolios.

Fee-based charges
Fee-based advisors charge a quarterly or annual flat fee for their services based on performing a certain task for you, such as creating a financial plan.

Hourly rate
Some advisors who provide a very specific service may be paid an hourly rate, similar to how other professionals are compensated. This option is not as common in the financial advisor industry.

Blended
Some advisors may be compensated with a blend of commissions and fees.

Who do financial advisors work with

Talk to your advisor about what relationships he or she has with different types of professionals whose services you might also require. These other professional could include:

  • Lawyers (estate, divorce, corporate, etc.)
  • Accountants
  • Insurance brokers
  • Mortgage brokers
  • Bank managers
  • Other professionals as needed

What are the roles and responsibilities of a financial advisor?

Advisor teams come in all shapes and sizes. If you are working with a single advisor, you will probably be in contact with that person most of the time. However, some advisors have a team of people who work with them, and it may be beneficial to gain an understanding of how they all work together to serve you.

Ask your advisor about the different roles and responsibilities each team member has and how these individuals’ roles might affect you. For example, you may want to ask who will handle administrative issues, such as a name or address change, and who will handle your investment/portfolio questions.

What should I expect from my financial advisor?

You can expect your financial advisor to provide regular updates on your plan and investments. This will help you understand how often you should be meeting with your advisor and what other contact you can expect throughout the year.

Here are a few “touch points” you may want to speak to your advisor about:

  • One-on-one portfolio and update meetings
  • Market update information (e.g., newsletters, emails, etc.)
  • Statements and other reporting
  • Client events

Advisors are as varied as the individuals found in any profession. Training, philosophies and areas of expertise can vary greatly from advisor to advisor. It is very important that you feel comfortable with the person with whom you are working, and that you trust this individual to put your best interests first.

What questions should I ask my advisor?

Now that you have a better understanding of what to look for when searching for an advisor, you need to put this information to use. Here are a few questions that you should consider asking when you meet your potential advisor for the first time to make sure he or she is the right fit for your needs:

  1. What professional designations do you hold?
  2. Are there any educational areas you plan to pursue in the future?
  3. What service do most of your clients come to you for?
  4. What would you consider as your area of specialty?
  5. Can you describe your fee model and how it would apply to me?
  6. Do you have professional partners you refer your clients to (such as an accountant or lawyer)?
  7. How does your practice/team operate?
  8. How often will we meet for a portfolio review?
  9. How often will I be contacted by you or your office?
  10. Do you have references that I can contact?

Prendre vos finances en mains après une maladie

Le changement est inévitable et certaines situations personnelles apportent leur lot de défis. La maladie d'un membre de la famille peut être un moment émotionnellement éprouvant à vivre, particulièrement lorsqu’il est question de nouvelles dépenses et de la modification de votre plan financier. Le programme Prenez en main votre avenir de Placements Franklin Templeton a été créé pour vous aider, vous et votre famille, à vous préparer aux défis que la vie vous réserve afin de prendre en main votre bien-être financier.

Quels sont mes besoins financiers à la suite d’une maladie au sein de ma famille?

Arrêt de travail

Selon la nature et la gravité de la maladie, vous ou le membre de votre famille pourriez devoir vous absenter du travail, qu'il s'agisse d'une absence à court terme, d'une absence à long terme ou d'un départ définitif. Vous pourriez devoir ajuster votre plan financier pour compenser de possibles pertes possibles de revenu.

Prestations d’invalidité

Vous pourriez devoir réévaluer votre budget pour faire bon usage des prestations d'invalidité ou utiliser votre revenu réduit de façon optimale.

Frais médicaux

Les traitements médicaux, les médicaments d'ordonnance et d'autres types de soins liés à votre maladie peuvent coûter cher. Vous pourriez devoir évaluer votre budget pour tenir compte des nouvelles dépenses.

Maintien du mode de vie

Une maladie ou une invalidité peut avoir de graves conséquences sur votre qualité de vie et celle de votre famille. Mettre en place un plan financier aujourd’hui peut vous aider à vous préparer efficacement aux événements et aux défis qui pourraient survenir. Un conseiller financier peut vous aider.

Comment puis-je créer un plan financier pour l’avenir?

Vous devez garantir votre stabilité financière et celle de votre famille. À court terme, vous devez bien comprendre la situation financière actuelle de votre famille, voir à vos besoins financiers immédiats et commencer à planifier l'avenir.

Veillez aux besoins urgents de liquidités

Collaborez avec votre conseiller afin de préparer un budget familial pour les besoins à court terme. Plus tard, prévoir un budget vous aidera à déterminer comment soutenir votre famille par vous-même, ou avec le revenu de votre partenaire lorsque sa situation se sera stabilisée. Si votre partenaire est apte à travailler à nouveau, vous pourrez réévaluer votre plan financier.

Faites un bilan de votre situation financière

Vous devez bien connaître les actifs de votre partenaire, ainsi que les vôtres. Compilez tous les renseignements importants et gardez une copie dans votre coffret de sûreté, et laissez une copie à une personne de confiance, en cas d'urgence.

Consultez votre conseiller financier

Rencontrez votre conseiller afin d’évaluer votre situation financière. Si vous n’êtes pas à l’aise de le rencontrer seul, vous pouvez demander à un membre de la famille ou à un ami en qui vous avez confiance de vous accompagner. Votre conseiller financier peut vous aider à déterminer vos priorités lorsque vous vous préparez aux pires scénarios. Une bonne communication est essentielle.

Vous pourrez aborder les sujets suivants :

  • Établissement d'un fonds afin d'obtenir des revenus supplémentaires pour les soins de santé de votre partenaire et de compenser la perte de revenus
  • Accroissement du fonds d'urgence du ménage (au cas où vous perdriez votre revenu)
  • REEE pour vos enfants
  • Revue et mise à jour de la couverture d'assurance compte tenu de la situation de votre partenaire
  • Stratégies pour consolider votre plan de retraite

Élaboration et mise à jour régulière de votre plan

Votre conseiller peut vous aider à élaborer un plan financier complet écrit que vous pouvez consulter régulièrement pour vous aider à atténuer vos préoccupations financières. Il peut, et devrait, être mis à jour régulièrement pour refléter les changements dans l'état de santé de votre partenaire.

Comment trouver le bon conseiller financier?

Si vous n'avez pas de conseiller financier, le temps est venu de trouver celui qui vous convient. Vous avez besoin d'un conseiller qui peut vous aider, vous et votre famille, à créer un plan afin de faire face aux dépenses et aux responsabilités supplémentaires qui sont liées au traitement d'une maladie. La connaissance des titres professionnels des conseillers financiers, de leurs domaines d'expertise et des diverses formes de rémunération peut vous aider à prendre une décision éclairée lorsque vous cherchez le bon conseiller financier.

Quels sont les titres professionnels courants des conseillers financiers?

Le secteur des services financiers incite tous les conseillers financiers à suivre une formation continue. Voici une liste de quelques-uns des titres professionnels les plus répandus du secteur. Parlez-en avec votre conseiller.

  • Cours sur le commerce des valeurs mobilières au Canada (CCVM) / examen relatif au Manuel sur les normes de conduite (MNC)
  • Planificateur financier agréé (CFP) / Planificateur financier enregistré (RFP)
  • Conseiller financier agréé (ChFC) / autre formation sur l’assurance
  • Planificateur de la retraite agréé (CRP)
  • Analyste financier agréé (CFA)
  • Comptable agréé (CA) / Comptable professionnel agréé (CPA)
  • Mentorat (demandez à votre conseiller à quels programmes de mentorat il a participé)
  • Autre étude/attestation/cours/formation

Dans quels domaines d’expertise des conseillers financiers se spécialisent-ils?

Vous voulez un conseiller qui peut non seulement vous aider à élaborer un plan financier qui tient compte d'une maladie au sein de la famille, mais aussi vous aider à chaque étape de votre vie. Vos besoins peuvent comprendre les activités de placement courantes ou à plus long terme comme la planification de la retraite et la planification successorale. Quel que soit le cas, votre conseiller devrait être en mesure d’organiser vos finances. Voici certains domaines au sujet desquels vous pouvez lui poser des questions :

  • Planification de la retraite (p. ex., comptes de régime enregistré d’épargne-retraite \[REER], comptes d’épargne libre d’impôt \[CELI], etc.)
  • Planification successorale
  • Planification fiscale
  • Planification des études (p. ex., comptes de régime enregistré d’épargne-études \[REEE], etc.)
  • Prestations de retraite
  • Établissement du budget du ménage
  • Assurance
  • Banque/hypothèques

Comment les conseillers financiers sont-ils rémunérés?

Les conseillers peuvent être rémunérés de différentes façons. Leur rémunération est établie en fonction du type de produits ou de services offerts par les conseillers et de leur mode de fonctionnement. Les formes courantes de rémunération comprennent les suivantes :

Rémunération sous forme de commissions
Les conseillers rémunérés sous forme de commissions sont payés chaque fois qu’une transaction est effectuée en leur nom. Par exemple, le conseiller qui achète ou vend un titre ou un fonds pour vous est souvent rémunéré par la société qui offre le produit de placement ou qui en facilite l’achat.

Pourcentage d’actifs
Certains conseillers facturent des honoraires qui sont établis selon un pourcentage de la valeur totale des placements que vous leur confiez. Il s’agit d’une structure de paiements courante pour les conseillers dont les clients possèdent des portefeuilles de placement importants.

Rémunération sous forme d’honoraires
Les conseillers rémunérés sous forme d’honoraires facturent des honoraires fixes trimestriels ou annuels en échange de leurs services, et ce, selon le type de tâches qu’ils accomplissent pour vous, comme établir un plan financier.

Taux horaire
Certains conseillers qui fournissent un service très précis peuvent appliquer un taux horaire, un peu à la manière dont certains autres professionnels sont rémunérés. Il ne s’agit pas d’une option aussi courante pour les conseillers financiers du secteur.

Rémunération combinée
Certains conseillers peuvent percevoir une rémunération combinée sous forme de commissions et d’honoraires.

Avec qui les conseillers financiers ont-ils établi des relations de travail?

Demandez-lui de vous indiquer quelles relations il a établies avec différents types de professionnels dont vous pourriez également avoir besoin. Ces autres professionnels pourraient notamment comprendre :

  • Avocats (de sociétés ou spécialisés dans les successions ou les divorces, etc.)
  • Comptables
  • Courtiers d’assurance
  • Courtiers en hypothèque
  • Directeurs de banque
  • Autres professionnels au besoin

Quels sont les rôles et les responsabilités d'un conseiller financier?

Les équipes de conseillers se présentent sous diverses formes et diverses tailles. Si vous faites affaire avec un seul conseiller, c’est probablement avec cette personne que vous communiquerez la plupart du temps. Toutefois, lorsque les conseillers travaillent en équipe, il peut être bon d’en comprendre le fonctionnement afin de savoir comment tous les membres travaillent ensemble pour vous servir.

Demandez à votre conseiller les rôles et les responsabilités de chacun des membres de l’équipe et ce que cela signifie pour vous. Par exemple, vous pourriez demander qui s’occupera des questions d’ordre administratif, telles que les changements de nom ou d’adresse, et qui répondra aux questions portant sur vos placements ou votre portefeuille.

Que puis-je attendre de mon conseiller financier?

Vous pouvez escompter que votre conseiller financier fera régulièrement le point avec vous sur votre plan et vos placements. Cette réflexion vous aidera à savoir à quelle fréquence vos rencontres avec votre conseiller devraient avoir lieu et quelles autres communications vous devriez vous attendre à recevoir tout au long de l’année.

Voici certains « points de contact » que vous aimeriez peut-être aborder avec votre conseiller :

  • Rencontres personnelles pour discuter du portefeuille et rencontres de mise à jour
  • Compte rendu sur le marché (p. ex., bulletins d’information, courriels, etc.)
  • Relevés de compte et autres rapports
  • Événements clients

Il existe une multitude de profils de conseillers. La formation, les philosophies et le domaine d’expertise peuvent varier énormément d’un conseiller à l’autre. Il est très important que vous vous sentiez à l’aise avec la personne avec qui vous travaillez, une personne en qui vous avez confiance et qui agira dans votre intérêt.

Quelles questions devrais-je poser à mon conseiller?

Maintenant que vous avez une meilleure compréhension de ce que vous devez rechercher chez un conseiller, vous devez mettre à profit ces renseignements. Voici quelques questions que vous devriez peut-être poser à votre conseiller éventuel lorsque vous le rencontrez pour la première fois afin de vous assurer que les services offerts répondent à vos besoins :

  1. Quels titres professionnels détenez-vous?
  2. Y a-t-il certains domaines d’étude qui pourraient vous intéresser à l’avenir?
  3. Quels sont les services que vous demandent la plupart de vos clients?
  4. Que considérez-vous comme votre domaine de compétence?
  5. Pouvez-vous décrire votre modèle de tarification et comment il s’appliquerait à ma situation?
  6. Avez-vous des partenaires professionnels que vous recommandez à vos clients (comptables ou avocats notamment)?
  7. De quelle manière fonctionne votre entreprise ou votre équipe?
  8. À quelle fréquence allez-vous tenir des rencontres pour passer en revue le portefeuille?
  9. À quelle fréquence, vous ou votre personnel, allez-vous communiquer avec moi?
  10. Êtes-vous en mesure de me fournir des références avec lesquelles je peux communiquer?