Investor Behaviour

Decisions, Decisions

In investing (and in life), we like to believe we act rationally. But we don’t always make decisions for the reasons we think. The field of behavioural economics has proven there are social, emotional and even cognitive factors that can get in our way. By becoming aware of these tendencies – or biases – we stand a better chance of meeting our long-term investment goals.

Herding is what happens when we follow the crowd—even when the crowd may be doing something kind of nutty. Like spending more for a tulip than they’d spend on a house. Find out why “but everyone else is doing it” may be a great reason to do something else.

Learn More

Loss Aversion

What does golf’s dreaded water hazard have to do with investing?

That dreaded ‘ker-plunk’ gets in our heads and can lead some golfers to play it a little too safe. It’s the same way with investing. Too much caution can keep you from achieving long-term gains.

Learn More

Availability Bias

Does “Shark Week” keep you out of the water?

The odds of being at the sharp end of a shark attack are about 1 in 11,500,000.

But we don’t always base decisions on probability. We often base them on the first thing that comes to mind—and because of that, anything that’s recent or dramatic jumps to the front of the line. It’s why we might avoid the water during TV’s “shark week.” And it’s why a decade-old market downturn still has some investors watching from the shore.

Learn More

Home Country Bias

Would the world’s best soccer team have only Canadian players?

If you could build the ultimate soccer team, chances are you’d choose the best players from around the world.

So why do so few of us do that with our investments? The best opportunities—like the best players—come from different countries. Is Home County Bias holding you back?

Learn More

Present Bias

Who needs tomorrow when we’ve got today?

With no fridges (and an abundance of caveman-chomping carnivores) our prehistoric ancestors had to live in the moment. We don’t. But our brains are still wired for “feel good now” behavior. That’s why it can be so tempting to spend everything now instead of saving for the future.

Learn More

COMPORTEMENT DE L’INVESTISSEUR

Décisions, décisions

Dans le monde des placements (et dans la vie), nous aimons croire que nous agissons rationnellement. Pourtant, nous ne prenons pas toujours nos décisions pour les raisons que nous croyons. L’économie comportementale a prouvé que des facteurs sociaux, émotionnels et même cognitifs peuvent influer sur nos décisions. En reconnaissant l'existence de ces tendances - ou de ces partis pris - nous avons plus de chance d’atteindre nos objectifs à long terme.

Le comportement mimétisme survient quand nous suivons des foules, même si les foules agissent bizarrement. C’est comme dépenser plus pour une tulipe que pour une maison. Découvrez pourquoi la formule « Tous les autres le font » peut être une excellente raison de faire autre chose.

En savoir plus

Aversion pour les pertes

Mais qu’est-ce que l’obstacle d’eau tant redouté du golf a à voir avec les placements?

Ce « ker-plunk » tant redouté peut rendre les golfeurs excessivement prudents, les obligeant à sacrifier les résultats pour leur sécurité. Il en va de même pour les placements. La peur des pertes à court terme peut empêcher les investisseurs de réaliser des gains à long terme.

En savoir plus

Biais de disponibilité

La « Semaine du requin » vous éloigne-t-elle de l’eau?

Les chances d’être attaqué par un requin sont d’environ 1 sur 11 500 000.

Mais nous ne basons pas toujours nos décisions sur les probabilités. Nous les basons souvent sur la première chose qui nous vient à l’esprit, et en raison de cela, tout ce qui est récent ou spectaculaire passe au premier plan. C’est pourquoi nous pourrions éviter l’eau pendant la « semaine du requin » à la télévision. Et c’est la raison pour laquelle, depuis une décennie, malgré la récession, certains investisseurs observent encore la situation depuis la côte.

En savoir plus

Préférence nationale

La meilleure équipe de soccer mondiale serait-elle composée uniquement de joueurs canadiens?

Si vous aviez la possibilité de bâtir l’équipe mondiale de soccer par excellence, il est fort probable que vous choisiriez les meilleurs joueurs de la planète.

Alors, pourquoi si peu d’entre nous le font avec nos placements? Comme pour les meilleurs joueurs de soccer, il est logique de choisir les meilleures sociétés des différents pays. La préférence nationale vous freine-t-elle?

En savoir plus