Clear Bridge logo

U.S. Economy: Anatomy of a Recession

Where do we stand - and what should we watch for in the coming months?

U.S. Economy: Stay in Front of the Business Cycle

The Anatomy of a Recession (AOR) program is designed to help you stay on top of the business cycle and provide thoughtful insights through our exclusive risk and recovery dashboards. Updated monthly, AOR offers a concise, practical look at what the key indicators are saying about the United States economy and the potential impact on the equity markets from ClearBridge Investments. The data suggests that the economy exited the COVID-19 recession around mid-year 2020. As we move into 2021, investor focus has shifted to the possibility of a double dip recession which is why ClearBridge has re-introduced the Recession Risk dashboard. Click on each tab for a different view of the dashboard data.

U.S. Recession Risk Indicators

March 31, 2021February 28, 2021January 31, 2021

Consumer

Housing Permits
Job Sentiment
Jobless Claims
Retail Sales
Wage Growth

Business Activity

Commodities
ISM New Orders
Profit Margins
Truck Shipments

Financial

Credit Spreads
Money Supply
Yield Curve
Overall Signal

Expansion

Caution

Recession

A recession is a significant decline in economic activity spread across the economy, lasting more than a few months, normally visible in real GDP, real income, employment, industrial production, and wholesale-retail sales. A recession begins just after the economy reaches a peak of activity and ends as the economy reaches its trough. Between trough and peak, the economy is in an expansion. Expansion is the normal state of the economy; most recessions are brief and they have been rare in recent decades.
Data as of March 31, 2021
Source: ClearBridge Investments, BLS, Federal Reserve, Census Bureau, ISM, BEA, American Chemistry Council, American Trucking Association, Conference Board, and Bloomberg. The ClearBridge Recession Risk Dashboard was created in January 2016. References to the signals it would have sent in the years prior to January 2016 are based on how the underlying data was reflected in the component indicators at the time.

U.S. Recession Risk Indicators

Current20202007-200920011990-19911981-198219801973-19751969-1970

Confidence

Housing Permits
Job Sentiment
Jobless Claims
Retail Sales
Wage Growth

Economic

Commodities
ISM New Orders
Profit Margins
Truck Shipments
n/a n/a

Financial

Credit Spreads
Money Supply
Yield Curve
Overall

Expansion

Caution

Recession

Data as of March 31, 2021
Source: FactSet, Bloomberg, Conference Board, Census Bureau, Federal Reserve, FRBPA, Chicago Fed, ISM, Dept. of Labor, Bloomberg/Barclays, AAII, Investors Intelligence, and Moody’s.

U.S. Recovery Case Dashboard

Q2 2018Q4 2018Q2 2019Q4 2019Q2 2020

Consumer

Housing Permits
Job Sentiment
Jobless Claims
Retail Sales
Wage Growth

Business Activity

Commodities
ISM New Orders
Profit Margins
Truck Shipments

Financial

Credit Spreads
Money Supply
Yield Curve

Source: BLS, Federal Reserve, Census Bureau, ISM, BEA, American Chemistry Council, American Trucking Association, Conference Board, and Bloomberg. The ClearBridge Recession Risk Dashboard was created in January 2016. References to the signals it would have sent in the years prior to January 2016 are based on how the underlying data was reflected in the component indicators at the time.

Resources

Anatomy of a Recession Brochure

Anatomy of a Recession Brochure

Stay On Top Of The Business Cycle

Anatomy of a Recession Presentation

Anatomy of a Recession Presentation

View the latest comprehensive slide deck.

Anatomy of a Recession Presentation - Short Version

Anatomy of a Recession Presentation – Short Version

Take a look at the latest abridged Economic and Market Outlook slide deck.

Insights

Clear Bridge logo

Anatomie d’une Récession

Où en sommes-nous dans le cycle économique - et à quels facteurs devons-nous prêter attention dans les mois à venir ?

Économie américaine : Gardez un temps d’avance sur le cycle économique

Le programme « Anatomie d’une récession » (Anatomy of a Recession, AOR) est conçu pour vous aider à rester en phase avec le cycle économique et pour vous fournir des analyses rigoureuses grâce à nos tableaux de bord exclusifs du risque et de la relance. Mise à jour mensuellement, l’AOR de ClearBridge Investments présente une vision concise et pratique de ce que les principaux indicateurs économiques nous apprennent sur l’économie américaine et de l’impact potentiel sur les marchés d’actions. Les données indiquent que l’économie est sortie de la récession provoquée par la COVID-19 vers le milieu de l’année 2020. En ce début d’année 2021, l’attention des investisseurs se porte davantage sur le risque d’une récession à double creux. C’est pourquoi ClearBridge a relancé le tableau de bord sur les risques de récession. Cliquez sur chaque onglet pour obtenir une vue différente sur les données du tableau de bord.

Indicateurs du risque de récession aux États-Unis

juillet 2021mars 2021décembre 2020

Consommation

Permis de construire
Climat du travail
Demandes d'allocations de chômage
Ventes au détail
Croissance des salaires

Activité des entreprises

Matières premières
Nouvelles commandes ISM
Marges bénéficiaires
Expéditions par camion

Finance

Spreads de crédit
Masse monétaire
Courbe des taux
Signal général

Expansion

Prudence

Récession

On appelle « récession » une baisse significative de l'activité économique sur l'ensemble de l'économie, qui dure plus que quelques mois, transparaît en principe dans le PIB réel, le revenu réel, l'emploi, la production industrielle et les ventes en gros et en détail. Une récession commence juste après le moment où l'économie atteint son niveau d'activité le plus élevé et se termine au moment où elle atteint son point le plus bas. Entre le creux et le sommet, l'économie est en phase d'expansion. L'expansion est la situation normale de l'économie ; la plupart des récessions sont de courte durée, et elles sont devenues rares au cours des dernières décennies.
Données au 31 juillet 2021
Source : ClearBridge Investments, BLS, Réserve fédérale, Census Bureau, ISM, BEA, American Chemistry Council, American Trucking Association, Conference Board et Bloomberg. Le Tableau de bord sur les risques de récession de ClearBridge a été créé en janvier 2016. Les références aux signaux qu'il aurait affichés dans les années antérieures à janvier 2016 sont basées sur la manière dont les données sous-jacentes ont été reflétées dans les indicateurs des composantes à ce moment-là.

Indicateurs du risque de récession aux États-Unis

Conditions actuelles20202007-200920011990-19911981-198219801973-19751969-1970

Confiance

Permis de construire
Climat du travail
Demandes d'allocations de chômage
Ventes au détail
Croissance des salaires

Économique

Matières premières
Nouvelles commandes ISM
Marges bénéficiaires
Expéditions par camion
s/o s/o

Finance

Spreads de crédit
Masse monétaire
Courbe des taux
Dans l'ensemble

Expansion

Prudence

Récession

Données au 31 juillet 2021
Source : FactSet, Bloomberg, Conference Board, Census Bureau, Federal Reserve, FRBPA, Chicago Fed, ISM, Dept. of Labor, Bloomberg/Barclays, AAII, Investors Intelligence et Moody’s.

Tableau de bord du scénario de relance américain

T2 2018T4 2018T2 2019T4 2019T2 2020

Consommation

Permis de construire
Climat du travail
Demandes d'allocations de chômage
Ventes au détail
Croissance des salaires

Activité des entreprises

Matières premières
Nouvelles commandes ISM
Marges bénéficiaires
Expéditions par camion

Finance

Spreads de crédit
Masse monétaire
Courbe des taux

Source : BLS, Réserve fédérale, Census Bureau, ISM, BEA, American Chemistry Council, American Trucking Association, Conference Board et Bloomberg. Le Tableau de bord sur les risques de récession de ClearBridge a été créé en janvier 2016. Les références aux signaux qu'il aurait affichés dans les années antérieures à janvier 2016 sont basées sur la manière dont les données sous-jacentes ont été reflétées dans les indicateurs des composantes à ce moment-là.

Ressources

Brochure Anatomie d’une récession

Brochure Anatomie d’une récession

Restez en phase avec le cycle économique

Présentation Anatomie d'une récession

Présentation Anatomie d'une récession

Découvrez la dernière présentation complète. [en anglais]

Présentation Anatomie d'une récession - version courte

Présentation Anatomie d'une récession - version courte

Découvrez la dernière présentation condensée sur les perspectives économiques et de marché.

Perspectives