GET to know our president and ceo: Duane Green

Duane Green is president and CEO of Franklin Templeton Investments Canada and of Fiduciary Trust Company of Canada. Leveraging more than 23 years of experience in the financial services industry, he oversees Franklin Templeton's Canadian business.

Mr. Green previously served as managing director - Canada, responsible for the firm's Canadian retail, institutional and HNW businesses. Prior to that, he was head of Institutional, Canada. Mr. Green joined Franklin Templeton in 2004 as vice president, Strategic Alliances.

Mr. Green is chair of the board and director of Franklin Templeton Investments Corp., director of Fiduciary Trust Company of Canada and is chair and director of FTC Investor Services Inc. He also serves as president, CEO and director of both Templeton Growth Fund Ltd and Franklin Templeton Corporate Class Funds Ltd.

Mr. Green has a degree in economics from the University of Ottawa and is a fellow of the Canadian Securities Institute. He holds the FMA, CIM, and FCSI designations.

He serves on the Board of Directors of the Investment Funds Institute of Canada (IFIC), the Canadian Coalition for Good Governance (CCGG) and Business for the Arts (BA). He also sits on the Pension Committee of Canada's National Ballet School and is a past board member of Canada's National Ballet School and of Crohn's and Colitis Canada. In 2017, he was honoured as recipient of the Women in Capital Markets Male Leadership Award.

We recently sat down with Duane to discuss his background, his goals for Franklin Templeton’s Canadian business, and his outside interests.

How did you get started in the investment industry?

I have always had a keen interest in business and investing, but my passion for the financial services industry really started when I was studying economics at the University of Ottawa. One of my professors recommended that I get some sales experience in order to broaden my perspective of the investment world. He thought that it would open many doors for me and he was right.

What excites you most about your role?

I am excited to work with advisors, plan sponsors, investors and other intermediaries to help Canadians attain their financial goals.

In Canada, we have a been actively managing assets for retail investors since 1954 when Sir John Templeton launched the Templeton Growth Fund in Montreal. Today, we have the privilege of managing assets for retail, institutional and HNW investors in Canada. As active managers, we have the know-how to identify and take advantage of price volatility driven by market uncertainty and political instability. So being able to share and build on the insights of our investment experts across the globe is a significant advantage.

I am also excited about our commitment to support the financial advisor community through various events, initiatives and advocacy efforts. We are also developing more value-add programs and tools like the Franklin Templeton Online Academy to help educate advisors and strengthen their practice management. Last year, we were honored to be recognized as Fund Provider of the Year in Canada. I am very proud of our team and the recognition that we are receiving.

What are some of your current product initiatives?

The past two years have been one of our busiest periods in the company’s history in terms of launching new product and pricing initiatives, but we are not resting on our laurels. We are always evaluating our fund line-up and pricing models to ensure that we are meeting the evolving needs of Canadian advisors and investors. In 2018, we continued to add to our growing family of ETFs with the introduction of six new Smart Beta and actively managed products. As with our other Franklin LibertyShares offerings, these ETFs leverage our firm’s deep investment expertise and provide Canadians with a greater range of choices when it comes to building diversified portfolios and pursuing their desired outcomes.

More recently, we were pleased to offer investors a number of Franklin Bissett fixed income and dividend-paying equity funds at lower costs. In the current interest rate environment, this news has been welcomed with open arms by advisors and investors who are seeking diversified solutions across the yield spectrum.

What are you focused on as President and CEO?

One of my key areas of focus is advancing and championing diversity in the workplace. Both within the company and the larger community of the financial services industry, I feel that there is a real need to embrace this. I believe we all win when everybody has the opportunity to participate, advance their careers and bring their best ideas to the table.

On the investment front I am focused on ensuring that we provide exceptional asset management services to Canadian investors. Regardless of what is happening in the markets, I want our business to continue to provide timely perspectives that help investors make well-informed decisions about their portfolios. I believe we are able to do this by offering a truly global perspective that leverages the insights and experience of our 650 investment professionals around the globe.

To help investors I support initiatives designed to improve Canadians’ knowledge of what they are investing in, the fees they are paying and how they are accessing financial advice. We are strong believers in value of advice. Therefore, we have been - and will continue to be – proud, vocal advocates for the industry and the needs of investors in our discussions with regulators.

What are your outside interests?

I am a big believer in volunteering. It’s a wonderful chance to give back to the community and to gain new perspectives and experiences. I have had the privilege to have served on the board of Crohn’s and Colitis Canada for three years and the board of Canada’s National Ballet School for the past six years. I am currently on the board of directors for Business for the Arts, Canadian Coalition for Good Governance and Investment Funds Institute of Canada. I am also the Chair of the Faculty Cabinet at my alma mater, the University of Ottawa.

During our spare time, my wife Angela and I love to travel. Europe is a favourite destination, especially Italy (Capri). We are also huge baseball fans and in my office are souvenirs from my favourite sports team…Go Jays Go!

APPRENEZ À CONNAÎTRE
NOTRE PRÉSIDENT
ET DIRECTEUR GÉNÉRAL:
DUANE GREEN

Duane Green est président et chef de la direction de Placements Franklin Templeton Canada et de la Société Fiduciary Trust du Canada. Il compte plus de 20 ans d’expérience dans le secteur des services financiers et supervise les activités de Franklin Templeton au Canada.

M. Green a auparavant occupé le poste de directeur général, Canada, où il était responsable des activités axées sur les clients particuliers, institutionnels ou disposant d'une valeur nette élevée. Il a également assumé la fonction de chef des placements institutionnels – Canada. M. Green est entré au service de Franklin Templeton en 2004 à titre de vice-président, Alliances stratégiques.

M. Green est président du conseil d’administration et administrateur de la Société de Placements Franklin Templeton, administrateur de la Société Fiduciary Trust du Canada, et président du conseil et administrateur de Services aux investisseurs FTC Inc. Il agit aussi à titre de président, chef de la direction et administrateur du Fonds de croissance Templeton, Ltée et de la Catégorie Société Franklin Templeton, Ltée.

M. Green est titulaire d’un diplôme en économie de l’Université d’Ottawa et est membre de l’Institut canadien des valeurs mobilières. Il détient les titres de FMA, de CSI et de GPC.

Il siège au conseil d'administration de l’Institut des fonds d’investissement du Canada (IFIC), de la Coalition canadienne pour une bonne gouvernance (CCBG) et de Business for the Arts (BA). Il est également membre du comité de retraite de l’École nationale de ballet du Canada et a déjà siégé au conseil d’administration de celle-ci ainsi que de la Fondation canadienne des maladies inflammatoires de l’intestin. En 2017, il a remporté le prix Leadership, décerné à un homme par l’association Women in Capital Markets (WCM).

Nous l'avons rencontré il y a peu pour parler de son parcours, de ses objectifs pour les activités canadiennes de Franklin Templeton et de ses intérêts personnels.

Comment avez-vous commencé dans le secteur des placements?

Les affaires et les placements m'ont toujours intéressé, toutefois, ma passion pour les services financiers est née alors que j'étudiais l'économie à l'Université d'Ottawa. Un de mes professeurs m'a recommandé d'acquérir de l'expérience comme vendeur pour élargir ma vision du monde des placements. Il pensait que cela m'ouvrirait de nombreuses portes, et il avait raison.

Qu'est-ce qui vous enthousiasme le plus dans votre poste?

J'aime travailler avec des conseillers, des promoteurs de régimes, des investisseurs et autres intermédiaires pour aider les Canadiens à assurer leur sécurité financière.

Au Canada, nous assurons une gestion active des actifs pour les investisseurs particuliers depuis 1954, lorsque Sir John Templeton a lancé le Fonds de croissance Templeton à Montréal. Aujourd'hui, nous avons la chance de gérer les actifs de particuliers, d'investisseurs institutionnels et de clients disposant d'une valeur nette élevée au Canada. En tant que gestionnaires actifs, nous savons repérer la volatilité des prix qui découle de l'incertitude des marchés et de l'instabilité politique ambiante, et en tirer parti. Notre capacité à exploiter les analyses de nos experts en placements situés partout dans le monde constitue un avantage certain.

Je suis également très content de notre engagement envers la communauté des conseillers financiers et de pouvoir leur apporter notre appui par le biais de divers événements, initiatives ou activités promotionnelles. Nous nous attachons également à concevoir davantage de programmes et d'outils à valeur ajoutée comme l'Académie en ligne Franklin Templeton, afin d'informer les conseillers et de consolider leurs méthodes de gestion de leurs activités. L'année dernière, la société a reçu le prix du Prestataire de fonds de placement de l’année au Canada. Je suis très fier de notre équipe et des prix que nous recevons.

Parlez-nous de certaines de vos initiatives actuelles en matière de produits.

Les deux dernières années ont été l'une des périodes les plus occupées de l'histoire de l'entreprise en termes de lancement de nouveaux produits et d'initiatives en matière de prix, mais nous ne nous reposons pas sur nos lauriers. Nous évaluons constamment notre gamme de fonds et nos modèles de tarification, afin de veiller à répondre à l'évolution des besoins des conseillers et des investisseurs canadiens. En 2018, nous avons continué d'agrandir notre famille de FNB, qui sont en pleine croissance, avec l'ajout de six nouveaux produits intelligents bêta en gestion active. Tout comme pour nos autres produits Franklin LibertyShares, ces FNB bénéficient de la vaste expertise de notre société en matière de placement et offrent aux Canadiens une plus grande variété de choix lorsqu'il s'agit de constituer des portefeuilles diversifiés et d'obtenir les résultats souhaités.

Plus récemment, nous avons eu le plaisir d'offrir aux investisseurs un certain nombre de titres à revenu fixe et de fonds d'actions versant des dividendes Franklin Bisset à moindre coût. Dans la conjoncture actuelle des taux d'intérêt, cette nouvelle a été accueillie à bras ouverts par les conseillers et les investisseurs en quête de solutions diversifiées sur l'ensemble du marché des rendements.

Qu'est-ce qui vous tient à coeur en tant que président et directeur général?

Ce qui me tient tout particulièrement à coeur est de promouvoir et faire progresser la diversité en milieu de travail. Tant au sein de l'entreprise que dans l'ensemble du secteur des services financiers, j'estime qu'il y a un réel besoin de s'y consacrer. Je crois que nous sommes tous gagnants lorsque tout le monde a l'occasion de participer, de faire évoluer sa carrière et de faire part de ses meilleures idées à la table.

En ce qui concerne les placements, je m'efforce de veiller à ce que nous proposions des services exceptionnels de gestion d'actifs aux investisseurs canadiens. Quoi qu'il arrive sur le marché, je veux que notre entreprise puisse continuer d'offrir des analyses opportunes qui permettront aux investisseurs de prendre des décisions éclairées au sujet de leurs portefeuilles. Je crois que nous sommes en mesure de le faire en offrant une perspective véritablement mondiale qui repose sur la connaissance et l'expérience de nos 650 professionnels des placements répartis à travers le monde.

Pour aider les investisseurs, j'appuie des initiatives visant à approfondir les connaissances des Canadiens en matière de placements, les frais qu'ils paient et faciliter leur accès aux conseils financiers. Nous croyons fermement en la valeur des conseils. Par conséquent, nous avons été - et serons toujours - de fiers défenseurs du secteur et des besoins des investisseurs dans nos discussions avec les organismes de réglementation.

Parlez-nous de vos intérêts personnels.

JJe crois beaucoup au bénévolat. C'est une merveilleuse occasion de redonner à la communauté, d'élargir ses horizons et d'acquérir de nouvelles expériences. J'ai eu la chance de siéger au conseil d'administration de Crohn et Colite Canada pendant trois ans et je suis membre du conseil d'administration de l’École nationale de ballet du Canada depuis maintenant six ans. Je siège actuellement au conseil d'administration de Business for the Arts, de la Coalition canadienne pour une bonne gouvernance et de l'Institut des fonds d'investissement du Canada. Je suis également président du Conseil universitaire de mon alma mater, l'Université d'Ottawa.

Mon épouse Angela et moi adorons voyager dans nos temps libres. L'Europe est l'une de nos destinations préférées, surtout l'Italie (Capri). Nous sommes aussi de grands amateurs de baseball : mon bureau est plein de souvenirs de mon équipe favorite... Allez, les Jays!