Advisors,
how are your storytelling skills?

The era of content overload is here. Millions of shows scream for our attention to be watched and, while it can be overwhelming, it reflects an underlying human truth—we love good stories.

Stories help us make sense of the world we inhabit, teach us about what’s beyond our ken and can stick in our memories for life. Storytellers, particularly skilled ones, hold our attention and engage us through words. They can make any topic compelling, which explains why I know the history of Airdancers—the giant inflatable waving tube people you often see outside car dealerships—thanks to Roman Mars and his podcast, 99% Invisible.

The opportunity for financial advisors to create vivid stories that resonate with clients is vast. It’s a technical field with an overabundance of numbers shrouded in jargon that’s lost on most people. Additionally, the ups and downs of the markets add a layer of emotional complexity for clients to navigate. By using stories to explain, teach and describe the multi-faceted investment world you can help your clients relate to their financial plan, and you, in a deeper way.

Here are four ways an advisor can use stories to connect better with prospects and clients.

Distinguish yourself from the sea of sameness

What makes you different from other advisors? Products, process and even price are no longer key differentiators. Even your mission statement, and the phrasing you spent hours crafting with your team, isn’t going to be what a prospect remembers. They will remember the story you tell to breathe life into your investment philosophy and paint the picture of your client experience. Set yourself apart with something memorable and engaging, to help them see you as the right financial advisor for them.

Clarify client-centric perceptions of your role

Some financial advisors toe-dip into the pool of storytelling using figures of speech to describe their role to prospective clients. Often, they begin with “I’m like…” and ends with something cliché such as “the quarterback” or “surgeon,” which mostly lets prospects know that you think highly of yourself. Remember, you shouldn’t be the hero of your own metaphor. It’s better to reframe it to be more client-centric. Even a small tweak, like beginning with, “Our role is to be…” can go a long way in helping you re-position a metaphor that emphasizes the client benefits your role provides.

If you are the third, or fourth, advisor a prospective client meets, how will you stand out? There could be a number of prospects who don’t really know what your job is—let alone why they should pay you. Find a way to clarify and connect using strong imagery or a figure of speech that could be accessible for most people. In other words, don’t invoke a hyper-specific or obscure simile that requires extensive backstory to understand. Stick with the everyday examples of how you improve your clients lives and help them achieve their personal goals. 

Show confidence and expertise

When you can explain a dry or complex idea using a vivid story, you convey competency. It shows you have such a comprehensive understanding of the concept that you’re able to make it relatable for the benefit of others. Explaining technical products using a figure of speech like a metaphor can paint a picture that is more memorable than a jargon-heavy definition.

Take, for example, diversification. The definition: a risk management strategy that mixes a wide variety of investments within a portfolio. The rationale behind this technique is that a portfolio constructed of different kinds of assets will, on average, yield higher long-term returns and lower the risk of any individual holding or security.

That description is likely to cause a lot of eyes to glaze over, yet diversification is an important concept for your clients to know. Even using the tried and true story about not putting your eggs in one basket is better than the textbook definition. Consider relating diversification to dietary advice (daily hot dog consumption may not lead you to optimum health) or even fashion (a wardrobe of only tank tops makes you ill prepared for changing seasons) to convey it in relatable terms.

Stocks, mutual funds, net asset value, capital gains—most people don’t know what they mean. Select the words and phrases you use most often in client conversations and consider ways you might describe them in accessible terms, while the essence stays the same. If you feel stuck, start by searching online—you’ll find many examples and can select and build on one that resonates with you.

Demonstrate understanding of client emotions

Managing client emotions can be one of the most challenging aspects of the job. It’s easy to convince clients that they should stay invested for the long term when the markets are bullish and the economy is thriving. But, when the market takes a hit, even a small one, those same clients are thrown into an emotional state and may scramble for the sidelines.

Helping clients connect to long-term investing in real terms can go a long way in reinforcing their good behavior. Sailing and other journeys are good examples to draw from because there is an ultimate implied destination and lots of room for variability along the way. One advisor I know likens long-term investing to having children, telling clients that she knew how she wanted to parent and what choices she wanted to make—until she actually had a baby. It’s a story clients may relate to as parents but it also highlights the differences between hypothetical and real experiences. It lets clients know she can empathize with the emotions clients may feel during bouts of volatility. Clients who feel understood may end up being less defensive and more willing to listen to what she has to say during high stress times.

There are several irrational emotions and behaviors that clients may reveal over time. Show them examples of what happens when people have followed the herd, stayed too long in cash or tried to time the markets. Let them know that fear and frustration are, unfortunately, part of investing, but reinforce staying the course. Check out our behavioral finance videos here, for some examples of animated stories that can help support your conversations or give you ideas for connecting everyday examples to investment ideas.

I want to point out that stories are not about ambiguity or flowery language to disguise or misdirect.  Instead, they’re meant to help your clients understand your methods and teach them what they need to know about investments. They should be used strategically to engage clients and prospects with you and your business. When you can master storytelling and integrate it seamlessly into your conversations, it helps your clients remember you favorably. It might even lead them to repeat your stories and give out your name to friends. If they’re repeating your stories, it means they understand your point well enough to teach it to others and that is a job well done.



The views expressed in this article are only those of Rob Richardson and are not necessarily the views of Franklin Templeton.  They should not be considered investment advice or recommendations to invest in any security or adopt any investment strategy.

AUTHOR

Rob Richardson

Rob Richardson, CIMA®
Senior Vice President
Practice Management Spokesperson

LOCATION: San Mateo, California, USA
TENURE: 1995

From now until normal: 7 ways to reframe and elevate the client experience

If normalcy is many months away, how can advisors provide exceptional value to their clients now?

Productivity in unprecedented times

To thrive in the new normal, advisors may need to reorient themselves both physically and psychologically. Here’s three tips from Rob Richardson.

Coronavirus, clients and the role of a financial advisor

Escalating anxiety calls for a reliable voice of reason. Find out more from our Rob Richardson.

Advisor’s guide to the psychology behind goal setting

As more advisors adopt goals-based investing into their practice, the amount of client interactions naturally increases as advisors seek to define (and refine) the full scope of their client’s goals.

Let’s elevate practice management in 2020

Right now, thousands of athletes around the globe have their sights set on one goal—the 2020 Olympic and Paralympic games in Tokyo.

Are you ready for a new decade of financial advice?

This past decade, financial advisors and the finance industry was shaken up and forever changed.

How to help clients be prepared for the unexpected

Having these preparatory conversations with clients are especially relevant now as many begin to reflect on the previous year and gear up for the next one.

Can a group supercharge your growth? This one might.

For the last few years I have focused on helping advisors understand how to create an elevated client experience.

Three ways to reframe referrals (that work)

Let’s be honest, that old way of asking for a referral doesn’t work for a lot of us.

Running your business and managing clients during periods of market volatility

In the past, it might not have been too challenging to field questions from a few concerned clients when the market takes a dip.

Advisors, how are your storytelling skills?

Millions of shows scream for our attention to be watched and, while it can be overwhelming, it reflects an underlying human truth—we love good stories.

The professional contacts every advisor should have

Advisors are hired and given a license to discuss at-length, a topic that for most people, is a pretty touchy one—money.

The fundamental flaw in traditional referral requests

In my observation, many financial advisors ask for referrals in the same way.

What grieving clients need from you

A number of commercials for financial advisors focus on being with clients for life’s high points—graduations, home purchases and retirement.

Best practices for advising couples

Of the 60 million married couples in the US, it’s unlikely that any fell in love over a shared investment risk tolerance.

Anchoring and financial decisions

Anchoring can become dangerous when clients allow anchors to influence their performance expectations.

What Are the Risks?

All investments involve risks, including possible loss of principal. Stock prices fluctuate, sometimes rapidly and dramatically, due to factors affecting individual companies, particular industries or sectors, or general market conditions. Special risks are associated with foreign investing, including currency fluctuations, economic instability and political developments. Investments in emerging markets involve heightened risks related to the same factors, in addition to those associated with these markets’ smaller size and lesser liquidity. Investments in fast-growing industries like the technology sector (which historically has been volatile) could result in increased price fluctuation, especially over the short term, due to the rapid pace of product change and development and changes in government regulation of companies emphasizing scientific or technological advancement or regulatory approval for new drugs and medical instruments.

Important Legal Information

The companies and case studies shown herein are used solely for illustrative purposes; any investment may or may not be currently held by any portfolio advised by Franklin Templeton Investments. The opinions are intended solely to provide insight into how securities are analyzed. The information provided is not a recommendation or individual investment advice for any particular security, strategy, or investment product and is not an indication of the trading intent of any Franklin Templeton managed portfolio. This is not a complete analysis of every material fact regarding any industry, security or investment and should not be viewed as an investment recommendation. This is intended to provide insight into the portfolio selection and research process. Factual statements are taken from sources considered reliable, but have not been independently verified for completeness or accuracy. These opinions may not be relied upon as investment advice or as an offer for any particular security. Past performance does not guarantee future results.

Conseillers, avez-vous des aptitudes en communication narrative?

L'ère de la surcharge de contenu est arrivée. Des millions d'émissions se disputent notre attention et, bien que cette situation puisse être accablante, elle reflète une vérité humaine sous-jacente – nous aimons les bonnes histoires.

Les histoires nous aident à donner un sens au monde dans lequel nous vivons, nous enseignent ce qui dépasse notre entendement et peuvent rester gravées dans nos mémoires à vie. Les conteurs, particulièrement ceux qui sont doués, retiennent notre attention et nous interpellent par les mots. Ils peuvent rendre n'importe quel sujet fascinant, voilà pourquoi je connais l'histoire des Airdancers – ces géants en forme de tubes gonflables que l'on voit souvent devant les concessionnaires automobiles – grâce à Roman Mars et à son podcast, 99% Invisible.

Les conseillers financiers ont de nombreuses possibilités de créer des histoires vibrantes qui trouvent un écho auprès des clients. C'est un domaine technique caractérisé par une surabondance de chiffres et par un jargon que la plupart des gens ne comprennent pas. En outre, les fluctuations des marchés ajoutent un élément de complexité émotionnelle de telle sorte que les clients ne s'y retrouvent plus du tout. En vous servant d'histoires pour expliquer, enseigner et décrire le monde multidimensionnel des placements, vous pouvez aider vos clients à mieux comprendre leur plan financier et renforcer le lien que vous avez avec eux.

Voici quatre façons dont un conseiller peut utiliser les histoires pour mieux communiquer avec ses clients actuels et potentiels.

Démarquez-vous de la masse

Qu'est-ce qui vous distingue des autres conseillers? Les produits, le processus et même le prix ne sont plus les principaux facteurs de différenciation. Ce n'est ni votre énoncé de mission ni la formulation que vous avez passée des heures à élaborer avec votre équipe dont un client potentiel se souviendra. Il se souviendra de l'histoire que vous racontez pour donner vie à votre philosophie de placement et décrire votre expérience client. Distinguez-vous par quelque chose de mémorable et de fascinant, pour les aider à vous voir comme le conseiller financier qu'il leur faut.

Clarifiez les perceptions de votre rôle centrées sur le client

Certains conseillers financiers se plongent dans l'univers de la narration en utilisant des figures de style pour décrire leur rôle aux clients potentiels. Souvent, ils commencent par « Je suis comme... » et terminent par une expression toute faite comme « le quart-arrière » ou « le chirurgien », ce qui fait surtout savoir aux clients potentiels que vous avez une haute opinion de vous-même. Rappelez-vous que vous ne devriez pas être le héros de votre propre métaphore. Il est préférable de la reformuler pour qu'elle soit davantage axée sur le client. Même une légère modification, par exemple en commençant votre propos par « Notre rôle est d'être... » peut grandement vous aider à reformuler une métaphore qui met l'accent sur les avantages que votre rôle procure au client.

Si vous êtes le troisième ou le quatrième conseiller qu'un client potentiel rencontre, comment vous démarquerez-vous? Il pourrait y avoir un certain nombre de clients potentiels qui ne savent pas vraiment en quoi consiste votre travail et encore moins pourquoi ils devraient vous payer. Trouvez un moyen de clarifier votre rôle et de communiquer en utilisant des images fortes ou une figure de style compréhensible pour la plupart des gens. En d'autres termes, n'ayez pas recours à une comparaison très spécifique ou obscure dont la compréhension nécessite une longue histoire. Tenez-vous en aux exemples quotidiens de la façon dont vous améliorez les vies de vos clients et les aidez à atteindre leurs objectifs personnels. 

Montrez-vous confiant et démontrez votre expertise

Lorsque vous êtes en mesure d'expliquer une idée peu intéressante ou complexe à l'aide d'une histoire vibrante, vous véhiculez votre compétence. Cela montre que votre compréhension du concept est tellement exhaustive que vous êtes en mesure d'en établir des liens pour l'expliquer à d'autres personnes. Expliquer des produits techniques à l'aide d'une figure de style comme une métaphore peut peindre un tableau plus mémorable qu'une définition truffée de jargon.

Prenons, par exemple, la diversification. Définition : stratégie de gestion des risques qui combine une grande variété de placements au sein d'un portefeuille. Cette technique se justifie par le fait qu'un portefeuille constitué de différents types d'actifs produira, en moyenne, des rendements à long terme plus élevés et réduira le risque d'un placement ou d'un titre donné.

Cette description est susceptible de laisser beaucoup de personnes indifférentes, mais la diversification est un concept important que vos clients doivent connaître. Même l'utilisation de la métaphore vraie et éprouvée de ne pas mettre tous ses œufs dans le même panier est préférable à la définition classique. Songez à établir un lien entre la diversification et les conseils diététiques (consommer chaque jour des hot-dogs peut nuire à votre santé) ou même la mode (avoir uniquement des camisoles dans sa garde-robe vous prépare mal aux changements de saison) pour fournir une explication en des termes faciles à comprendre.

Actions, fonds communs de placement, valeur liquidative, gains en capital – la plupart des gens ne savent pas ce que ces termes veulent dire. Choisissez les mots et les expressions que vous utilisez le plus souvent dans vos conversations avec les clients et explorez les possibilités de les décrire en termes accessibles, tout en conservant l'essentiel. Si vous vous sentez coincé, commencez par faire une recherche en ligne – vous trouverez de nombreux exemples et vous pourrez en choisir un qui vous rejoint.

Démontrez une parfaite compréhension des émotions des clients

La gestion des émotions des clients peut être l'un des aspects les plus difficiles de votre travail. Il est facile de convaincre les clients qu'ils devraient conserver leurs placements à long terme lorsque les marchés sont en hausse et que l'économie est florissante. Toutefois, lorsque le marché prend un coup, même petit, ces mêmes clients sont plongés dans un état émotionnel et peuvent se précipiter vers la sortie.

Aider les clients à comprendre le concept du placement à long terme en termes réels peut contribuer grandement à renforcer chez eux un comportement convenable. La navigation et autres voyages sont de bons exemples dont il faut s'inspirer parce que nous y avons une destination implicite finale et une grande marge de variabilité en cours de route. Une conseillère que je connais compare le placement à long terme au fait de devenir parent. Elle dit à ses clients qu'elle savait qu'elle voulait être mère et quels choix elle voulait faire, jusqu'au jour où elle a eu un bébé. C'est une histoire à laquelle les clients peuvent s'identifier en tant que parents, mais elle met aussi en lumière les différences entre les expériences hypothétiques et réelles. Elle permet aux clients de savoir qu'elle peut comprendre les émotions qu'ils peuvent ressentir pendant les périodes de volatilité. Les clients qui se sentent compris peuvent finir par être moins sur la défensive et plus disposés à écouter ce qu'elle a à dire en période de stress intense.

Les clients peuvent manifester au fil du temps plusieurs émotions et comportements irrationnels. Montrez-leur des exemples de ce qui arrive quand les gens suivent la masse, conservent des liquidités trop longtemps ou essayent de synchroniser les marchés. Faites-leur savoir que la peur et la frustration font malheureusement partie du processus de placement, mais encouragez-les à garder le cap. Jetez un coup d'œil à nos vidéos sur la finance comportementale ici, pour des exemples d'histoires animées qui peuvent vous aider à étayer vos conversations ou vous donner des idées pour établir des liens entre des exemples quotidiens et des idées de placement.

Je tiens à souligner que les histoires n'ont rien à voir avec le recours à un langage ambigu ou fleuri à des fins de dissimulation ou de mauvaise orientation.  Leur but est plutôt d'aider vos clients à comprendre vos méthodes et de leur enseigner ce qu'ils doivent savoir sur les placements. Elles devraient être utilisées de façon stratégique pour amener les clients actuels et potentiels à mieux vous comprendre, ainsi que vos activités. Lorsque vous pouvez maîtriser l'art de la narration et l'intégrer de façon harmonieuse dans vos conversations, vos clients auront un bon souvenir de vous. Cela pourrait même les amener à raconter à leur tour vos histoires et à donner votre nom à des amis. S'ils racontent à leur tour vos histoires, cela signifie qu'ils comprennent assez bien votre point de vue pour l'enseigner à d'autres, et que vous avez fait du bon travail.



Les points de vue exprimés dans cet article sont ceux de Rob Richardson et ne sont pas nécessairement ceux de Franklin Templeton.  Ils ne doivent pas être considérés comme des conseils de placement ni comme une recommandation d’investir dans un titre ou d’adopter une stratégie de placement.

Rob Richardson, CIMA®
Premier vice-président
Porte-parole en gestion de la pratique

EMPLACEMENT : San Mateo (Californie) États-Unis
ANCIENNETÉ : 1995

En attendant un retour à la normale

7 façons de repenser et sublimer le service que vous offrez à vos clients

La productivité en des temps sans précédent

Pour réussir dans cette nouvelle réalité, les conseillers devront probablement se réorienter, tant physiquement que psychologiquement. Voici trois conseils de Rob Richardson.

Le coronavirus, les clients et le rôle d’un conseiller financier

Quand l’anxiété va en grandissant, il faut faire entendre la voix de la raison. Commentaire de Rob Richardson.

Manuel du conseiller financier sur la psychologie qui régit les objectifs qu'on ...

La formulation d'un objectif financier peut s'avérer difficile pour les clients.

Améliorons la gestion de la pratique en 2020

Actuellement, des milliers d’athlètes partout dans le monde n’ont qu’un seul objectif en tête : leur participation aux Jeux olympiques et paralympiques de 2020, à Tokyo.

Êtes-vous prêt pour une nouvelle décennie de conseils financiers?

La dernière décennie a ébranlé les conseillers financiers et le secteur de la finance, changeant la donne à tout jamais.

Diriger votre entreprise en périodes de volatilité boursière

Les fluctuations des marchés font partie du processus de placement à long terme.

Conseillers, avez-vous des aptitudes en communication narrative?

Les conseillers financiers ont de nombreuses possibilités de créer des histoires vibrantes qui trouvent un écho auprès des clients.

Les contacts professionnels que tous les conseillers devraient avoir

Comment pouvez-vous répondre aux besoins de vos clients qui ne sont pas d’ordre financier?

Les lacunes fondamentales des demandes de recommandation traditionnelles

Selon mes observations, de nombreux conseillers financiers demandent qu’on les recommande de la même façon.

Ce que les clients en deuil ont besoin de votre part

Soutenir un client en deuil vous exige de traverser un champ de mines émotionnel en faisant preuve de tact et de respect.

Les meilleures pratiques pour conseiller un couple

Parmi les 60 millions de couples mariés aux États-Unis, il est peu probable que l’un d'entre eux soit tombé en amour grâce à une tolérance commune au risque de placement.

Ancrage et décisions financières

Le biais d’ancrage est notre tendance à trop nous fier à un seul renseignement au moment de prendre une décision.

Quels sont les risques?

Tous les placements comportent des risques, dont celui d’une perte de capital. Les cours des actions fluctuent, parfois rapidement et de façon spectaculaire, en raison de facteurs qui influent sur les entreprises individuelles, des industries ou secteurs particuliers, ou de la conjoncture générale du marché. Les placements à l’étranger comportent des risques supplémentaires, comme la volatilité des taux de change, l’instabilité économique ou les événements politiques. Ces risques sont accrus en ce qui concerne les placements sur les marchés émergents, qui comportent aussi des risques associés à la taille relativement petite et à la liquidité moins importante de ces marchés. Investir dans des secteurs à croissance rapide, y compris le secteur de la technologie (qui a toujours été volatile) pourrait entraîner une fluctuation des prix, en particulier à court terme, en raison de cycles de production courts, de la baisse des prix et des bénéfices, de la concurrence des nouveaux venus sur le marché, du développement et de la croissance, les changements dans la réglementation gouvernementale des sociétés mettant l’accent sur le progrès scientifique ou technologique.

Information juridique importante

Les sociétés et études de cas présentées dans ce document sont utilisées uniquement à des fins d’illustration; ces placements peuvent ou non faire actuellement partie du portefeuille des fonds conseillé par Placements Franklin Templeton. Les opinions ne visent qu’à expliquer le processus d’analyse des titres. Les informations fournies aux présentes ne constituent pas une recommandation ou un conseil de placement particulier pour un titre, une stratégie ou un produit de placement donné et ne renseigne pas sur l’intention de négociation d’un portefeuille géré par Franklin Templeton. L’exemple ne constitue pas une analyse complète de tous les faits importants relatifs à un secteur, un titre ou un placement quelconque et ne doit pas être considéré comme une recommandation de placement. Il a pour but d'offrir un aperçu du processus de recherche et de sélection du portefeuille. Les données proviennent de sources jugées fiables, mais leur exhaustivité et leur exactitude n’ont pas fait l’objet d’une vérification indépendante. Ces opinions ne constituent pas des conseils de placement, ni une offre de titre donné. Le rendement passé n’est pas garant du rendement futur.